V.I. Cycling Federation Hosts South Shore Time Trial

Top three fastest riders: Glenn Massiah (2nd), Stephen Swanton (1st), David Parris (3rd)

In Sunday’s South Shore Time Trial, hosted by the Virgin Islands Cycling Federation (VICF), 18 cyclists faced fierce wind for the first half of the race against the clock as they headed east from Ha’ penny to the turnaround at the Divi Hotel. The race was held on July 1.

Although Glenn “Hula” Massiah reached one second in time ahead of the eventual Elite winner, he finished the 18-mile race 29 seconds behind for second place overall. Stephen Swanton was first in a time of 50:20; David Parris was third in 50:58.

Back on island for a short stay, Dedrick Luikens led the Expert category in a time of 51:33, which was also the fourth fastest overall time. Norbert Prospere was second in 56:42; Morgan Theophane was third in 58:31.

Top Expert riders: Morgan Theophane (3rd), Dedrick Luikens (1st), Norbert Prospere (2nd)

With the most consistent splits of the morning, James Meyers rode to first place in the Sport category with a time of 1:01:01. Olani Vanterpool was second in 1:02:57; Laverne Fredericksen, the lone female rider, was third in 1:03:09.

Advertising (skip)

The next VICF event, the Suzie Q Road Race, will be held at 7 a.m., Sunday, July 29. For more information, call 332-6282.


Top Sport riders: Laverne Fredericksen (3rd), James Meyers (1st), Olani Vanterpool (2nd)

Sunday, July 1, 2018 Virgin Islands Cycling Federation
South Shore Time Trial from Ha’ penny to Divi to Ha’ penny
Conditions: overcast, windy
Elite 18 miles TOTAL TIME/ Out/ Back
1 Stephen Swanton 0:50:20 0:26:37/ 0:23:43
2 Glenn Massiah 0:50:49 0:26:36/ 0:24:13
3 David Parris 0:50:58 0:26:39/ 0:24:19
4 Ian Collins 0:53:29 0:28:12/ 0:25:17
5 Scott Marusa 0:53:38 0:28:30/ 0:25:08
6 Jerry Remie 0:55:20 0:28:49/ 0:26:31

Expert 18 miles TOTAL TIME/ Out/ Back
1 Dedrick Luikens 0:51:33 0:27:27/ 0:24:06
2 Norbert Prospere 0:56:42 0:29:16/ 0:27:26
3 Morgan Theophane 0:58:31 0:30:22/ 0:28:09
4 Mario Peters 0:59:51 0:30:36/ 0:29:15
5 Shawn Baptiste 1:00:51 0:31:48/ 0:29:03
6 Alvin Thomas 1:03:01 0:33:26/ 0:29:35

Sport 18 miles TOTAL TIME/ Out/ Back
1 James Meyers 1:01:01 0:30:33/ 0:30:28
2 Olani Vanterpool 1:02:57 0:33:07/ 0:29:50
3 Laverne Fredericksen 1:03:09 0:33:41/ 0:29:28
4 Mervin Mills 1:05:24 0:33:43/ 0:31:41
5 Hubert Bartlett 1:07:00 0:33:42/ 0:33:18
6 Yves Abraham 1:09:04 0:35:06/ 0:33:58



Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Support the VI Source

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall - we want to keep our journalism as open as we can. Our sites are more popular than ever, but advertising revenues are falling - so you can see why we could use your help. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. If everybody who appreciates our reporting efforts were to help fund it for as little as $1, our future would be much more secure. Thanks in advance for your support!