87.5 F
Charlotte Amalie
Saturday, August 13, 2022
HomeNewsLocal governmentSenate Honors Rodney ‘Chief’ Varlack With Perma Plaque

Senate Honors Rodney ‘Chief’ Varlack With Perma Plaque

Rodney ‘Chief’ Varlack

Rodney “Chief” Varlack, took center stage Friday, April 20, at the Cleone Henrietta Creque Legislative Conference Room on St. John as members of the 32nd Legislature, led by Sen. Myron Jackson, hosted a Perma Plaque Ceremony in honor of his outstanding contributions to the Virgin Islands.

“It is a pleasure to be here this morning. Perma plaque ceremonies have not occurred in several years.  This is one of a series of Perma Plaque Awards honoring our own and their contributions to the territory for its cultural, social and economic development. Varlack has made a mark on our economy and the milestone anniversary of historic Cruz Bay at this Perma Plaque Ceremony at the St. John Legislature,” said Senate President Jackson.

Resolution No. 1832 (Bill No. 31-0311) honored Rodney “Chief” Varlack for his visionary entrepreneurship over the decades. His businesses include inter-island transport; safari taxi buses, island tours, school buses, wrecker and towing services, welding, and sea and mail transportation.

Lawmakers shared their remarks.

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

“Varlack  is a pillar of this community because without his hard work and discipline St. John would not have made it this far. He is a great man. Without him the young black people would not have an opportunity to become captains,” said Sen. Brian Smith.

Sen. Dwayne DeGraff stated that Varlack has encouraged him to follow his dreams and make a positive change in the community.

Separately, the Town of Cruz Bay was also recognized and honored.

Act 7942- (Bill No. 31-0449) – Commemorates the 250th anniversary of the founding of the town of Cruz Bay, celebrates its longevity, and honors the distinct African-Caribbean traditions and lifeways which make up St. John’s identity.

Soulful renditions of the anthems were sung by Shakima Jones; musical selections were performed by Gylchris Sprauve and N’Harmony. Rev. Carlyle Sampson of the Nazareth Lutheran Church conducted the invocation and benediction. A poem was recited by Gayle Varlack.

Senators present were Myron Jackson, Tregenza Roach, Brian Smith, and Jean Forde, as well as former senators Almando and Cleone Henrietta Creque “Rocky” Liburd.

Photo: http://www.legvi.org/committeemeetings/Media

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.


Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
This message is only visible to admins.
Problem displaying Facebook posts.
Error: Server configuration issue