81.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Saturday, December 3, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesDepartment of Education Announces Winners of Robert C. Byrd Scholarships for 2009

Department of Education Announces Winners of Robert C. Byrd Scholarships for 2009

May 13, 2009 – The recipients of the annual Robert C. Byrd Scholarships for 2009 have been announced. It is a four-year scholarship for graduating students who have been accepted to a college or university for attendance in the fall of 2009, according to a press release from St. Thomas–St. John District Superintendent Jeanette Smith-Barry.
The recipients are: Shinnola Alexander, Nneka Ayana Byron, Lindeon S. Davis and Shersil Prentice, graduating seniors from the Charlotte Amalie High School; and Eilese Cross, also a senior, who is attending the St. Thomas-St. John Seventh-day Adventist School.
As part of this program, the five Byrd scholars will receive awards of $1,500 per year, which can be renewed for a maximum of eight consecutive university or college semesters upon submission of required evidence showing maintenance of eligibility. Annually administered by the Virgin Islands Department of Education, the Robert C. Byrd Scholarship program, complies with section 419E of the Higher Education Act of 1965.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.