80.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, May 30, 2024


Nov. 5, 2001 – The V.I. National Guard has issued a listing of recent personnel actions for the Air Guard and the Army Guard. Included are award winners, new soldiers, promotions and retirees.
"Soldiers have to meet tough requirements and criteria to obtain promotions," said SSG. Karen D. Williams in a release.
The Soldier of the Year award, for example, results from monthly competitions through the year, said State Command Sgt. Maj. Earl Abramsen. Each of the more than 20 Virgin Islands commands have competitions, and then finalists are chosen to represent the V.I. National Guard at a national competition in Atlanta.
Three soldiers were at the most recent national competition: Spc. Myra Mueller, Sgt. 1st Class Jeremy Laurent, and Sgt. 1st Class Wayne Noel. Their specific local awards are in the listing that follows.
The competitions are good for the soldiers, said Abramsen, because they learn public speaking and communication, and the national event is an opportunity to meet fellow Guard members from all over and share experience and ideas.

For the Air Guard:
Retiree: Command Chief Master Sgt. Charles Farrell – 25 years
New Soldiers:
Airman Basic Melanie Adams-Tutein
Airman Basic Aretha Ventura
Airman Basic Lerna Donawa
Airman 1st Class Angelina Crosby
Staff Sgt. Jean Thurland
Tech. Sgt. James Nase
Promotions To:
Tech. Sgt. Stephen Charles
Airman 1st Class Michael Shaw
For the Army Guard:
Awards – St. Croix:
Soldier of the Year 2000 – Spc. Myra Mueller
Non-commissioned Officer of the Year 2000 – Sgt. 1st Class Jeremy Laurent
AGR Soldier of the Year 2000 – Sgt 1st Class Wayne Noel
Awards – St. Thomas:
Maj. Gladys Turnbull – Army Commendation and Army Achievement Medals
Capt. Sally Petty – Army Commendation Medal
Capt. Caron Bailey – Army Achievement Medal
Sgt. 1st Class Justin Callwood – Army Commendation Medal
Chief Warrant Officer 3 Hugh Forte – 27 years
Sgt. 1st Class Juanita Fergus – 21 ½ years
Sgt. 1st Class Myrlin Hazlewood – 21 years
Staff Sgt. Wilfred Marcus – 24 years
Sgt. Jennifer Decastro – 21 years
Sgt. Ray Phillips – 21 years
New Soldiers:
Pvt. Zemony Sealey
Pvt. Joyce Richardson
Pvt. Laurie-Ann Dureay
Pvt. Lyshaniz Lugo
Pvt. Zurah Joseph
Pvt. George Plummer
Pvt. Kamiele Roach
Promotions To:
Capt. Gladys Pagan
Sgt. Terrance Aaron
Spc. Lorna Butler
Pfc. Leonard Richards
Warrant Officer Academy – Graduate:
Warrant Officer 1 Mervin Mills

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.