74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, December 7, 2023


In a day-long session Tuesday, the Senate confirmed seven of eight nominees for Cabinet posts in the Turnbull-James administration.
The eighth nomination, that of Clement "Cain" Magras to be Tourism commissioner, was put on hold for 30 days, at Gov. Charles W. Turnbull's request, after a Tourism employee filed a discrimination complaint charging Magras with sexual harassment and assault. (See earlier story.)
The seven confirmed Cabinet members are:
— Ruby Simmonds as Education commissioner.
— Pedro Encarnacion as Fire Service director.
— Henry Schuster, commissioner of Agriculture.
— Wilbur Callender as Health commissioner.
— Dean Plaskett as commissioner of Planning and Natural Resources.
— Ira Hobson, Housing, Parks and Recreation commissioner.
— Iver Stridiron, attorney general.
Sen. Adelbert M. Bryan cast "no" votes on Stridiron and Hobson. He continued to criticize Stridiron's role in the AT&T settlement on the mud spill in Butler Bay, St. Croix.
In general, however, senators praised the nominees while delineating the problems facing them.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.