78.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Monday, November 28, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesSTARS Founders' Day Race Features Close Competition

STARS Founders' Day Race Features Close Competition

The 32 runners who took to the road provided a fast field for the St. Thomas Association of Roadrunners’ (STAR) 30th Annual Founders’ Run on Sunday.

The highlight was the men’s 5K (3.1 mile) race between Jacob Bang Korsholm of Denmark and local stand-out Shane deGannes. Though both runners had good reasons to not be running well – deGannes Saturday ran and won the VI Cross-Country Championship on St. Croix in 17:46 over the same distance; Korsholm had gotten to the start of Sunday’s race at the Fort Christian parking lot by running into town from Sugar Bay resort.

But from start to finish they smoked the course. Korsholm led them through the first mile in 5:23, deGannes responded and they traded the lead several times before deGannes was able to use the lead to emerge victorious with a time of 16:55 to Korsholm’s 17:04. They were followed Luketa Samuel, last week’s varsity cross-country winner, who ran a personal best at 19:29.

Although she didn’t beat her personal record for the course, STAR regular Ruth Ann David ran a 19:31 to finish almost six minutes ahead of the next female runner. Other exceptional performances came from Martin Maag, running in the 39 and older category, who finished fifth overall, just behind runners half his age, and Simone Francis, who led the over-40 women in 26:28. Of the 32 participants, Gayle Deller was the lone walker but managed to finish ahead of some of the runners.

Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)
Advertising (skip)

Further information on the race and STAR is available by calling Roy Watlington at 1-340-777-8183 or sending an email to rawatlington@earthlink.net.

STAR’s next race is the Diabetes Dash, a 5K benefit race starting to start at 4:00 PM on November 11th at the Roy L. Schneider Hospital.

Order of Finish

1. Shane deGannes 16:55

2. Jacob Bang Korsholm 17:04

3. Lukata Samuel 19:29

4. Ruth Ann David 19:31

5. Martin Maag 21:17

6. Brad Kappel 21;35

7. Steven Laplace 22:07

8. Shamoi Garcia 23:23

9. Jason Budsan 23:34

10. Lora Boone 25:27

11. Roy Rogers 26:25

12. Simone Francis 26:28

13. Adrianne Baird 27:14

14. Eddie Calderon-Lepeda 27:26

15. Erica Dover 28:20

16. Tonya Schulterbrandt 28:28

17. Gail Vento 29:13

18. Candace Grant 30:11

19. Tyler Smith 31:30

20. Marilyn Brandt 31:40

21. Roi V. Simmonds 33:34

22. Elizabeth Laplace 33:40

23. Joshua Schulterbrandt 35:04

24. Jordan Schulterbrandt 35:09

25. Duffy Coshow 35:19

26. Margot Murray 35:47

27. Ava Jayne Parfitt 37:06

28. Lisa Parfitt 37:07

29. Gayle Deller 46:41

30. K’bria Scotland 52:00

31. Arianna Thomas 52:01

32. K’lissa Scotland 52:02

Place by Category

Women 18-39

1 Ruth Ann David

2 Lora Boone

3 Erica Dover

4 Tonya Schulterbrandt

Women 39 and Older

1 Simone Francis

2 Candace Grant

3 Margot Murray

Women 8-17

1 K’bria Scotland

2 Arianna Thomas

Women 8 and Younger

1 Ava Jayne Parfitt

2 K’lissa Scotland

Walkers – Women

1 Gayle Deller


Men 18-39

1 Jacob Bang Korsholm

2 Brad Kappel

3 Shamoi Garcia

Men 39 and Older

1 Shane deGannes

2 Martin Maag

3 Steven LaPlace

Men 15-17

1 Lukata Samuel

2 Eddy Calderon-Lepeda

Men 11 and Younger

1 Joshua Schulterbrandt

2 Jordan Schulterbrandt

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.