74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Monday, February 26, 2024
HomeNewsLocal newsWolfpack and Longhorns Win 2023 Women’s Paradise Jam Titles

Wolfpack and Longhorns Win 2023 Women’s Paradise Jam Titles

The University of NC State Wolfpack and the University of Texas Longhorns played their final games of the 2023 Paradise Jam Women’s Tournament held at the University of the Virgin Islands Elridge Blake Sports and Fitness Center on Saturday evening. The Wolfpack won the Island Division while the Longhorns were crowned champions of the Reef Division.

Island Division Tournament

GAME 1 – NC State University 78 – University of Colorado 60

NC State and Colorado both had impressive wins against the University of Cincinnati and the University of Kentucky in their first two games of this round-robin formatted tournament. The two teams squared off in what amounted to be the championship game of the Island Division. The Wolfpack charged out to a 22-6 first-quarter lead, taking the fight out of the Buffaloes early. Island Tournament MVP River Baldwin of NC State dropped a career-high 24 points and snagged eight rebounds. Aziaha James added 15 points and grabbed six rebounds for the winning team. Jaylyn Sherrod and Frida Formann were the top two scorers for Colorado, with 20 and 14 points, respectively.

NC State team picture after winning the 2023 Women’s Paradise Jam Island Division. (Photo by Mark J Daniel)

GAME 2 – University of Cincinnati 65 – University of Kentucky 41

The Bearcats of the University of Cincinnati tamed the Wildcats of the University of Kentucky with a 65-41 victory. Kentucky could not throw it into the ocean in the opening half, shooting 36.4 percent from the field in that frame. In the third period, Kentucky’s Maddie Scherr caught fire, scoring 11 of her game-high 25 points. Cincinnati utilized the scoring trio of Jillian Hayes, Destiny Thomas, and Reagan Jackson, as they each scored 13 points. Hayes also registered 10 rebounds. Kentucky’s Scherr did not receive much offensive help from her teammates, as she made eight of her team’s 12 successful baskets for the entire game.

Here are the Island Division All-Tournament Team selections:

  1. Maddie Scherr – University of Kentucky
  2. Jillian Hayes – University of Cincinnati
  3. Jaylyn Sherrod – University of Colorado
  4. Saniya Rivers – University of NC State
  5. River Baldwin – University of NC State – Tournament MVP

Reef Division Tournament

Arizona State University Journey Thompson (#22) takes shot in the lane. (Photo by Mark J Daniel)

GAME 3 – Arizona State University 77 – High Point University 69

Arizona State University Sun Devils started the game strong but ended it even stronger as they cruised to a 77-69 victory over the Purple Panthers of High Point University. The Devils made 50 percent of their shots in the first quarter, opening a 12-point lead by the start of the second period. High Point mounted a mini comeback but that was foiled by Arizona State’s inability to miss shots in the fourth quarter as they shot 66.7 percent from the field in that closing frame. The Sun Devils were led by Jalyn Brown and Treasure Hunt, who scored 20 and 19 points, respectively. Anna Hager came off the Panther’s bench to lead the team in scoring with 16 points. Teammates Lauren Bevis and Faith Price both recorded 15 points each.

GAME 4 – University of Texas 76 – University of South Florida 44

The University of Texas won their opening two games and would be the champions of the Reef Division with a win against the University of South Florida. It is safe to say that this game was never in doubt, as the Longhorns of Texas only allowed 13 points in the entire first half while scoring 38. Any hope the Bulls of South Florida had of mounting a second-half comeback was trampled in the third as Texas shot 84.6 percent in that period, scoring 26 points. Texas was led by their two stars, Taylor Jones and Rori Harmon both dropping 15 points each. Vittoria Blasigh and Carla Britto score ten points each for the Bulls.

University of Texas group picture after winning 2023 Women’s Paradise Jam Reef Division. (Photo by Mark J Daniel)

Here are the All-Tournament Team for the Reef Tournament:

  1. Treasure Hunt – Arizona State University
  2. Jalyn Brown – Arizona State University
  3. Carla Brito – University of South Florida
  4. Taylor Jones – University of Texas
  5. Rori Harmon – University of Texas – Tournament MVP

    Reef Tournament MVP, Texas’ Rori Harmon, shoots the free throw. (Photo by Mark J Daniel)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.