86.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesBrief: Gov. Turnbull Formally Announces Supreme Court Nominations

Brief: Gov. Turnbull Formally Announces Supreme Court Nominations

July 20, 2006 — As expected, Gov. Charles Turnbull has formally nominated judges Maria M. Cabret, Ive A. Swan and Rhys S. Hodge to serve on the V.I. Supreme Court.
"All three nominees are distinguished jurists and possess the knowledge, experience, wisdom and judicial temperament necessary for judicial appointees," Turnbull wrote in a news release issued Thursday.
Cabret recently retired from the V.I. Superior Court after 19 years on the bench.
Swan was recently approved for his fourth six-year term on the Superior Court, while Hodge has been designated as presiding judge of the Superior Court.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.