78.5 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, February 22, 2024
HomeNewsLocal governmentGov. Bryan Nominates Gallivan to Superior Court Judgeship

Gov. Bryan Nominates Gallivan to Superior Court Judgeship

Jessica Gallivan
Superior Court Judge Douglas Brady (File photo)
Superior Court Judge Douglas Brady (File photo)

Gov. Albert Bryan announced Tuesday the appointment of Jessica Gallivan and the reappointment of Judges Debra Watlington, Douglas Brady and Kathleen Mackay to V.I. Superior Court.

Bryan nominated Gallivan, currently a magistrate judge with the Superior Court, to serve as Judge in the Superior Court. Gallivan will replace Judge Denise Hinds Roach whose six-year term ended in November 2018.

Judge Debra Watlington

“I am proud to offer the nominations of these Virgin Islanders to the Superior Court. They each bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the bench, and I am confident they will continue their outstanding service to the people of the Virgin Islands and ensure the fair application of justice in our territory,” Bryan said in a statement.

If confirmed by the Legislature of the Virgin Islands, Governor Bryan’s judicial nominees will each serve a six-year term on the bench.

Upon confirmation, Judges Brady, Mackay and Watlington will return to the bench at the Superior Court for a second six-year term.

According to Government House, Brady, Mackay and Watlington were all confirmed by the Legislature on November 19, 2012, and their term expired on November 19, 2018.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.