89.3 F
Charlotte Amalie
Tuesday, September 26, 2023
HomeNewsLocal sportsV.I.Pace Runners Hold 29th Annual Toast-To-The-Captain Road Race

V.I.Pace Runners Hold 29th Annual Toast-To-The-Captain Road Race

Nick Arcardo, winner of the 29th Annual Toast-To-The-Captain Road RaceRunners in the 29th Annual Toast-To-The-Captain 8.4 mile road race were from different walks of life as they toed the start line before sunrise in the Christiansted National Historic Site on St. Croix, according to a press release issued Tuesday by the V.I.Pace Runners. A group of nearly three dozen, including past winners, ultra-marathoners and two visiting rabbi’s, among others, were present. Runners included Billy Bohlke, a past winner of the race and a multiple Virgin Islands record holder in distance races.
“He used to hammer me in practice and in meets when we ran together at LSU,” Nick Arcardo, a member of the USA National 100K Ultra Distance Team, said of his time at the Southeastern Conference where Bohlke walked-on and became top distance man.
It wouldn’t be that way Saturday, Feb. 14, as the two went through the mile at Altona. Arcardo was cruising at around a 5:15 per mile pace, and Bohlke, not really training at the serious level these days, was in second place at around a 6:10 per mile pace. As it was, four guys would finish the race in under 60 minutes with Arcardo leading all the way to finish in 50 minutes and 20 seconds (50:20); Joshua Brewer ran a great race and finished second in 58:59; Bohlke nipped Dedrick Luikens for third place with a time of 59:23; Luikens finished fourth in 59.24; Paul Evora was the fifth place male in 1:03.45.
The exciting build-up for the female race had the two top female runners, Ruth Ann David and Bridget Klein, go head-to-head for a slot at the upcoming Pan Am Cross-Country Cup to be held in Colombia. It wouldn’t be as David was unable to get a flight from St. Thomas for the race. Klein dominated the female race and finished fifth overall with a time of 1:01.01; Julie Sommer was second in1:08.05; Pamela Terry was third in 1:09.27; Theresa Harper, making a comeback from months of recovery from injury, was fourth in 1:10.15 and Esther Ellis was fifth in 1:11.01.
Capt. Teddy Seymour again ran the race and hosted the runners with food provided by Ana Guiterrez, who is the first and only female V.I. Olympic marathon runner and female record holder for the race. George Jules, winner of the race several times and race record holder with a time of 45:45, provided support as the lead cyclist for Saturday. Wallace Williams, race founder/director came up with the idea for the event in 1986 when Seymour was at sea on his voyage to become the first black man to sail around the world alone.
The next race on the V.I.Pace Runners calendar is the annual Flight No. 64 Four Mile Road Race on Sunday, March 1.
Logon to: http://virginislandspace.org call: 643-2557 or e-mail: wallacewilliams@msn.com
THE 29TH ANNUAL TOAST-TO-THE CAPTAIN ROAD RACE, 8.4 Miles on Feb. 14, 2015, at Christiansted National Historic Site, Christiansted, St. Croix, V.I.
Organized by the Virgin Islands Pace Runners

Place/Name Age/Sex/City State/Club Time Pace
===== =================== === = =============== == ========== =======
1 NICK Arcardo/ 32/ M/ Baton Rouge, LA/ 50:20/ 6:00
2 JOSHUA Brewer 34 M St. Croix, VI 58:59 7:02
3 BILLY Bohlke 36 M St. Croix, VI 59:23 7:05
4 DEDRICK Luikens 38 M St. Croix, VI 59:24 7:05
5 BRIDGET Klein 31 F St. Croix, VI 1:01:01 7:16
6 PAUL Evora 45 M St. Croix, VI 1:03:45 7:36
7 MIKE Klein 50 M St. Croix, VI 1:04:47 7:43
8 RANDALL Nielsen 47 M St. Croix, VI 1:05:12 7:46
9 JAY Gleason 40 M St. Croix, VI 1:05:24 7:48
10 HEATHER Baden 39 F Rye, NY 1:05:51 7:51
11 JULIE Sommer 36 F St. Croix, VI 1:08:05 8:07
12 TROY Holloway 51 M St. Croix, VI 1:09:17 8:15
13 PAMELA Terry 30 F St. Croix, VI 1:09:27 8:17
14 THERESA Harper 48 F St. Croix, VI 1:10:15 8:22
15 MICHAEL Slezak 31 M St. Croix, VI 1:10:48 8:26
16 ESTHER Ellis 34 F St. Croix, VI 1:11:01 8:28
17 RYAN Barry 34 M St. Croix, VI 1:11:10 8:29
18 JENIFER Sturm 31 F St. Croix, VI 1:15:15 8:58
19 TJ Vandehey 29 M St. Croix, VI 1:20:29 9:35
20 LAUREN Stoffey 29 F St. Croix, VI 1:20:55 9:38
21 REGINA Stevens 52 F St. Croix, VI 1:21:42 9:44
22 KIRK Phillip 64 M Chicago, ILL 1:22:29 9:50
23 JULIE Eckard 42 F St. Criox, VI 1:22:32 9:50
24 JENNIFER Andrews 41 F St. Croix, VI 1:22:39 9:51
25 DULCIE Crowther 45 F St. Croix, VI 1:22:40 9:51
26 JACLYN Robak 27 F St. Croix, VI 1:27:41 10:27
27 TEDDY Seymour 70 M St. Croix, VI 1:40:13 11:56
28 WAYNE Nichols 60 M St. Croix, VI 1:40:14 11:56
29 ERNEST Green 48 M 1:44:27 12:27
30 VICTORIA Scott 47 F 1:46:14 12:39
31 CHANTELLE Quinones 29 F St. Croix, VI 1:48:49 12:58
32 TAMARAH Lezama 36 F St. Croix, VI 1:52:56 13:27
33 MAJORIE Berman 50 F Sumit, PA 2:12:19 15:46
34 DENISE Swartz 53 F Sumit, PA 2:12:20 15:46

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.