80.3 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, February 5, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesRotary Club of St. Thomas II Gives Out Paul Harris Awards

Rotary Club of St. Thomas II Gives Out Paul Harris Awards

The Rotary Club of St. Thomas II celebrated 34 years of demonstrating the Rotary motto “Service Above Self” on St. Thomas and recognized 10 individuals with Paul Harris Awards at a well-attended luncheon on Wednesday, April 17.
More than 70 Rotarians and guests, including district governor, Tortola’s Vance Lewis, enjoyed lunch and were reminded that Rotary II began with 18 members and over the past 34 years has grown to more than 60 members. Charter member, attorney Henry Feuerzeig and the second president, Aubrey Nelthropp, gave lively presentations of the history and special nature of Rotary II. Throughout its history, Rotary II has supported community projects that seek to improve the lives of V.I. youth, the elderly and the disadvantaged.
The luncheon was an appropriate place to acknowledge the contributions of the club to the Rotary Foundation through Paul Harris Awards. Paul Harris Fellow recognition was created in memory of Paul Harris the founder of Rotary as a way to show appreciation for contributions of $1000 to the humanitarian and educational programs of the Rotary Foundation throughout the world. A Paul Harris Fellow is an individual who contributes $1000 or in whose name that amount is contributed because that person’s life demonstrates a shared purpose with the objectives and mission of the Rotary Foundation. Every Paul Harris Fellow receives a pin and a certificate, which identify the person as an advocate of the foundation’s goal to build world peace and understudying by improving health and education, and alleviating poverty.
The awardees for this year include Peggy Simmons, New Generations Chair Sinclair Wilkinson, Immediate past president Lorraine Baa, past president Arthur Newton and Secretary Merle Kiture-Morgan. Paul Harris Fellows awarded by club members to non-Rotarians include Velma Abramsen, Marlene Frett and Sharon Flamon. Paul Harris Fellows awarded to community members for their outstanding service are Monica Loiten for her years of assistance with the Rotary’s annual car raffle fundraiser and Alicia Fleming for her numerous years of service working with seniors at Anna’s Retreat.
The Paul Harris Society was created in 2006 to recognize friends of tbe Rotary Foundation who commit to making annual contributions of $1000 or more to the Rotary Foundation. Paul Harris Socieher members of The Rotary Club of St.Thomas II include past president Horace Callwood, past president Erva Denham, past president Marilyn Blackhall, Arturo Watlington and LaVerne Ragster.
The Rotary Club of St. Thomas II thanks all of the Rotarians and members of the community who joined it in celebrating its 34th anniversary and recognizing the 2013 Paul Harris Fellows.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.