85.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Tuesday, September 27, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesEPA Seeks Nominations for Environmental Quality Awards

EPA Seeks Nominations for Environmental Quality Awards

As it has for many years, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency wants nominations for its annual Environmental Quality Awards. The deadline is Feb. 19. The awards will be given out in April.

"Businesses, individuals, organizations and government agencies often blaze the trail on a range of environmental protection and public health issues,” EPA Regional Administrator Judith A. Enck said in a press release issued Thursday.

“There are wonderful models of environmental protection that EPA wants to recognize,” she said, adding that everyone is encouraged to submit nominations that “illustrate outstanding environmental accomplishments that we can all learn from and be inspired by.”

To be selected, nominees must have significantly contributed to improving environmental quality during the prior year, demonstrated a high achievement level in the award category, created unique or location-specific benefits, produced results that are sustainable or reproducible, or increased public involvement in environmental action.

Last year’s winners are not eligible. Winners from 2011 and before are eligible but must be renominated. Self nominations are allowed.

The 2012 winners were St. John’s Island Green Building Association and Beyond Visions Foundation on St. Croix.

IGBA got the award in the nonprofit organization, environmental or community group category for its work in establishing the ReSource Depot. It sells leftover building materials, tools and decorating items. The items are donated and sold at a low cost to keep them out of the landfill.

Beyond Visions Foundation was picked in the environmental education category because it has made environmental education, awareness, advocacy and stewardship its mission since 1997.

The awards go to individuals, businesses and organizations that have contributed significantly over the past year to improving the environment and protecting public health in New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and eight federally recognized Indian Nations. Each state, territory or tribal group has its own set of awards.

For award criteria, prior winners and nomination instructions, see www.epa.gov/region2/eqa.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.