81.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Tuesday, November 29, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesV.I. Cyclists Battle the Rain and Wind in the South Shore Road...

V.I. Cyclists Battle the Rain and Wind in the South Shore Road Race

March 17, 2009 – The east end of St. Croix was swarming with cyclists on Sunday morning as racers battled rain and strong headwinds in the South Shore Road Race. Forty-eight riders started at Junie's Bar, racing in four divisions over three distances. The ten starters in the Elite division raced 45 miles, circling the east end twice and finishing near Ha'Penny Beach. Six cyclists finished in a pack, but it was STX340 rider Juancito Gario who crossed first in 1:52:29. Twin City member Apolinar Acevedo was second, and STX340's Marius Modeste was third. Visiting BVI cyclist Mark Smith finished in the lead pack.
Young Mark DeFour won 25-mile Expert in 1:11:49 in a two-up sprint with Sue Brown. The pair broke away from the other eleven cyclists in their group as they climbed a hill near St. Croix Yacht Club at about 12 miles. They soon opened up a 30-second lead and held that gap to the finish line. Dale Scope finished third in 1:12:23.
The large Sport division was dominated by Narian Gentius, who finished his 13-mile race alone in 46:05. Twin City member Angel Ventura was second in 46:25, and STX340 member Norbert Prosper was third.
Sara Gambee finished first in the Women's category, well ahead of Cruzan Confusion teammate Shawn Margles. First-time racer Laverne Fredericksen was third.
The next cycling race will be the Three-Person Team Time Trial on March 29, starting and finishing at Cramer's Park. The race distances are 14 and 22 miles.
For more information, call 773-0079.
South Shore Road Race – March 15, 2009
Elite – 45 miles (1). Juancito Gario -1:52:29 (2). Apolinar Acevedo- 1:52:29 (3). Marius Modeste- 1:52:29 (4). Mark Smith- 1:52:29 (5). Dwight Sergeant- 1:52:29 (6). Jonathan Cruz-1:52:29 (7). Cumber Greaux- 1:56:55 (8). Jose Diaz- 1:59:21, (9). Glenn Massiah-1:59:23 (10). Miguel Cruz- 2:03:50
Expert – 25 miles (1). Mark DeFour- 1:11:49 (2). Sue Brown-1:11:49 (3). Dale Scope-1:12:23 (4). Alex Betancourt- 1:12:24 (5). Troy Holloway- 1:12:24 (6). Tim Smith-1:12:25 (7). Ernst Schuster- 1:14:10 (8). James Meyers- 1:15:14 (9). David Nowack- 1:17:04 (10). Brad Chaffee- 1:17:54, (11). Nelson Rojas- 1:22:42 (12). Ferdi Abraham- 1:25:02 (13). Richard Jeanpierre- 1:33:24
Sport – 13 miles (1). Narian Gentius- 46:05 (2). Angel Ventura- 46:25 (3). Norbert Prosper- 46:31 (4). Milton Francis- 46:33 (5). Robert Grob- 46:34 (6). Elston Williams- 47:08 (7). Marius Louis- 47:53 (8). Chris Dorsey- 47:53 (9). Fred Flint- 48:06 (10). Tyler Jowaisas- 48:26 (11). Joe Aimable- 49:32 (12). Mervin Mills- 52:26 (13). David Parris- 52:40 (14). Peter Duthie- 54:17 (15). Vern Alleyne- 54:36 (16). Sonny Christopher- 54:53 (17). Gary Jett- 57:58 Yves Abraham- DNF, Paul Gillette- DNF
Women – 13 miles (1). Sara Gambee- 46:59 (2). Shawn Margles- 49:33 (3). Laverne Fredericksen- 1:00:13 (4). Donna Gates- 1:05:33 (5). Linda Nelson- 1:10:44, (6). Janet Jeanpierre- 1:25:40

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.