80.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Friday, December 2, 2022
HomeNewsArchivesAnother Course Record Falls in Cycling Competition

Another Course Record Falls in Cycling Competition

Jan. 21, 2007 — For the second week in a row, a cyclist set a new course record, this time at the East End Time Trial on Sunday.
Following last week’s course record by John Riggs, Robert Bumann took his first win of the year by setting a blistering new course record of 32:57 in the East End Time Trial. The individual event is raced on an undulating and windy course, and has always set the standard for the strongest rider in the territory. Bumann is coming off a tremendous second-place finish in the 2006 Caribbean Cycling Championship Time Trial, and looks to be even fitter than last year.
Second place went to Chavis Lunceford, who is developing quickly into a fine rider. Riggs took third, for his second podium finish in a row.
In the 11-rider Expert class, Paul Trivino and Jason Snow of the Twin City squad both had excellent times and took first and second in 37:18 and 38:57, respectively. Dale Scope of STX 340 finished third in 42:19.
In the Sport class, three riders finished closely bunched within 40 seconds. Donald Christian, Joseph Thomas and Edwin Cruz were one-two-three in 44:31, 45:03 and 45:12.
The women were led by first-time winner Heidi Snow in 48:33. Erica Sweitzer took second in 50:06 and Denise Blanchette was 18 seconds back in third.
In all, 35 riders tackled the course in favorable early-season conditions. The next race is the first road race of the year. “El Ocho,” a figure-eight route, will take place at the old South Shore Cafe on Feb. 4 at 7 a.m.
For more information, click here.
East End Loop Time Trial
Host: STX340
(Clockwise – 13 miles)
1. Robert Bumann 32:57 (STX340) Team Points:
2. Chavis Lunceford 36:26 (Twin City) Twin City – 12
3. John Riggs 37:00 (Cruzan Sprockets) STX340 – 11
4. Glenn Massiah 37:06 Cruzan Sprockets – 1
5. Juancito Gario 37:10
6. John Harper 37:41
7. Tom Guthrie 40:01
1. Paul Trivino 37:18 (Twin City)
2. Jason Snow 38:57 (Twin City)
3. Dale Scope 41:19 (STX340)
4. Miguel Cruz 41:59
5. Scott Fricks 42:32
6. Nelson Rojas 43:20
7. Chuck Hamel 43:44
8. Roger Hatfield* 43:53
9. Jose Diaz 44:54
10. Eric Jacobs 45:55
1. Donald Christian 44:31 (STX340)
2. Joseph Thomas 45:03
3. Edwin Cruz 45:12 (Twin City)
4. Khidhr Tariq 45:16
5. Stanley Ferguson 45:25
6. Ferdi Abraham 46:17
7. Bruce Daugherty* 46:19
8. Gary Jett* 47:53
9. Gary Nicholas 48:05
10. Peter Brown 52:05
11. Andre Galiber 1:04:25
12. John Jaber 1:08:09
1. Heidi Snow 48:33 (Twin City) 4. Cheryl Wade 58:16
2. Erica Sweitzer 50:06 5. Charlotte Bodurow 59:35
3. Denise Blanchette 50:24 6. Jessica Parker 1:04:22
* cyclist over 50 years old

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.