81.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesJuly 4th Celebration Parade Winners Announced

July 4th Celebration Parade Winners Announced

July 10, 2006 – With the July 4th Celebration over last Tuesday, it's back to business as usual on St. John. However, the July 4th parade winners get to bask in the afterglow a bit longer thanks to the announcement Monday of the winners by the St. John Festival and Cultural Organization.
Caneel Bay Resort took first place in the Floupe category. The float honored the resort's 50th anniversary, with the troupe dressed in gold as Aztecs.
Westin Resort and Villas was second in the Floupe category, and human resources manager Marni Walters-Richards said they're already making plans for next year.
The troupe members wore madras dresses out of fabric from Trinidad, where the hats were made. She said St. John seamstress Yolanda Morton sewed the skirts and ruffled tops.
In the Troupe category, Shaka Zulu captured first place, with Tropical Masqueraders in second, and Fete Tasteque third. All hail from St. Thomas.
Bushville of Tortola was first in the Mocko Jumbies category; We Dem Youths of St. John was second.
St. Thomas Majorettes came in first in the Majorette category, followed by Paradise Majorettes and Charmin' Twirlers in second and third respectively. All are St. Thomas groups.
St. John's own steel pan group, Love City Pan Dragons, was first in the Traditional category, with St. Thomas groups, Rising Stars Steel Orchestra tying with Pan in Motion for second place.
Elaine Penn of the Love City Pan Dragons was excited to learn the news. She said this year's performance was particularly special because it was the first year the Pan Dragons had its own trolley.
"We're thankful to the Westin for sponsoring the trolley and to other contributors for helping to refurbish it," she said. In previous years, the Pan Dragons had to rent a trolley in order to participate in parades.
Penn also had thanks to Delbert Hill for the use of his tow truck to pull the trolley and to Kenny Rawlins for painting the trolley.
In the Other category, the Traditional Indians took first, Eccentric took second and Mighty Groover was third. Mighty Groover hails from St. John, but the other two are from St. Thomas.
Parade chairwoman Natalie Thomas said the judges were Marcia George, Sue Brandi, John Brandi, and Lenyse Shomo.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name and city and state/country or island where you reside.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.