87.5 F
Charlotte Amalie
Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesCoalition Asks Agencies for Joint Planning

Coalition Asks Agencies for Joint Planning

June 21, 2006
This is an open letter to the Virgin Islands Government, the VI Port Authority and the National Park Service to request there be a joint and public planning process to determine the best future uses of the Cruz Bay Creek and its shoreline.
This area, surrounded by land owned by the three agencies above, is crucial to the vitality and functionality of Cruz Bay, St. John. To date, we only see piecemeal efforts by each agency to make major changes to access and uses in our town around this creek.. The VI Government is currently considering a parking garage and vendor plaza and new post office. The Port Authority is considering uses for the reuse of the old barge port and apron
including issuing a request for bid. The National Park is considering its
General Management Plan for the next 20 years and the public's requests for a boat ramp and marina. In addition, US Customs, Cruise Ship passenger tours, and other uses are in this area.
There is an immediate need for a joint public planning process to identify appropriate development for the Cruz Bay Creek area. All the agencies and our citizens should be involved in an immediate and active planning process.
It would be an excellent example of the productiveness of a well-run planning activity.
This request is made by the newly – formed St. John Coalition – citizens uniting to call for vision, public participation and planning for St. John.
The St. John Coalition
Alan Smith
Charles Deyalsingh
Christopher Clark
Delia Thomas
Jessica Richards
Liana Blackwood
John Fuller
Caroline A. Browne
Sharon Coldren
B. J. Harris
David W. Tice
Elizabeth Trey
Erva A. Denham
Tanagra Netsky and Martin Netsky
Alexander Jadan
Natalie Jadan
Anastasia Trey
John Levering, chairman, St. John Recycling Forum Gary Sellers and Sara-Ann Determan
Catherine Stephen
Cidney A. Hamling
A. Victoria Rogers
Thatcher B. Lord
Albert & Lonnie
Willis Stephen & Jean Cottrell
Bob Benedum
Ridge Benedum
Maryanne Frawley
Peter Wilder and Sandra Wilder
John Hilbert
Greg Miller
Elizabeth Wilder
Ronnie Jones
Tony Scimeca
Idalia Morales
Scimeca Roger & Veronica Madigan
Leonora Stanciauskas
Denise E Barbier
Truman F Barbier
Marjorie E Barbier
Nicole E Barbier
Robert Stork
Marjorie Botimer
Donna Perkins
Russ Howell
Kate Howell
John Perkins
Scott Hollinsworth
Thomas F. Matthias
Larry Best
Brian Bell
Norm Gledhill
Barry Devine
Diane Devine Jeanne
Tsakeres Alan
Fraser Drummond
Joan Sparling
Susan Mann, Cruz Bay resident/voter
John Brego
Laura Brego
Kyle Brego
Colin Brego
Leslie Keefer
Lori Piety
Trevor Piety
Marie Naisby
Eve Boulon
Greg Maskell
Jason Budsan
Lisa Etre
Gary Ray, Ph.D.
Shirley Reid
Tom Payne, St. John Sun Times
Zarah Bunner
Gail Siart
Peter Fortunato
Dan Boyd, Jennifer O'Neill
Beverly Lockett
CAPT. PHIL Chalker
Dr. Allison Smith
Gail Van de Bogurt
George Kremer
Bruce & Sharon Schoonover
Louise C. Putnam
Bish Curtin
Virginia and Paul Knaplund
Kristen Cox
Albion A. Sewer Sr.
Ann Sewer
Kimberly Boulon
Mark and Alex Riley
Robert and Marilyn Permenter

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.