84.7 F
Charlotte Amalie
Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeNewsArchivesBumann Captures Second Consecutive Cycling Win

Bumann Captures Second Consecutive Cycling Win

June 5, 2006 – In a finish that belied the long history of the Virgin Islands Cycling Federation, Robert Bumann outgunned the rest of the elite riders in a field sprint to capture the East End Road race on St. Croix. The hilly, tough course has always rewarded solo attacks, with the victors winning by dominating margins, followed by the remainder of the vanquished, who straggle home.
Sunday's race featured a few ineffectual attacks, which were easily reeled in during the first part of the 39-mile race. The finish sprint had Bumann attack with 200 meters to go, and he easily held off Nate Faulkenberry in second and Gabe Webber in third.
The rest of the events on the card ran truer to form. In the 26-mile B category tie, Alberto Rodriguez attacked from the gun, bridged up to the elite group, and won by over 4 minutes. Paul Trevino soloed in for second.
The large C category race saw Joseph Thomas and Diego Grimaldo get away early, with Thomas grabbing the win with a strong late move. In the first ever women's category in an open race, Kathy Bennett made history as the inaugural distaff winner, with a commanding 2-minute win over Michelle Freiberghouse.
For more information, please go to www.vicf.com.
East End Road Race
June 4, 2005
Elite Category – 39 miles
1) Robert Bumann 1:57:15
2) Nate Faulkenberry 1:57:16
3) Gabe Webber 1:57:17
4) Wayne Patrick 1:57:20
5) Juancito Gario 1:57:20
6) Jamie Keys 1:57:23
7) Danney Fontenelle 2:08:06
7) Glenn Massiah 2:08:06
Sue Brown DNF
John Harper DNF
Expert Category – 26 miles
1) Alberto Rodriguez 1:17:08
2) Paul Trevino 1:21:16
3) Todd Harris 1:27:03
4) Scott Fricks 1:27:04
Sport Category – 13 miles
1) Joseph Thomas 40:10
2) Diego Grimaldo 40:12
3) Luis Cruz 42:10
4) Stanley Ferguson 42:38
5) James Meyers 43:35
6) Nelson Rojas 43:20
7) Edwin Cruz 43:30
8) Ferdi Abraham 45:10
9) Gary Jett 45:40
10) Conrad Hoover 46:00
11) Angelo Galiber 47:50
12) Marius Louis 49:05
13) Angel Arias 49:10
14) Paul Gillette 57:31
15) Eric Jacobs 58:20
16) Cecil Hodge 1:02:45
Ezequiel Nieves DNF
Emmanuel Maldonado DNF
David Nowack DNF
Women – 13 miles
1) Kathy Bennett 48:58
2) Michelle Freiberghouse 50:58
3) Heidi Snow 54:35
4) Cheryl Wade 54:57
5) Amy Harris 1:03:43
5) Judy Fricks 1:03:43

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.