74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeNewsArchivesPerson of the Year to Be Announced Wednesday

Person of the Year to Be Announced Wednesday

March 7, 2005 – It's time for the Don Quixote statuette to be handed out again, and the community is, as usual, buzzing with speculation.
No, it's not the Oscars. It's the awarding of the 25th annual Person of the Year Award.
But who will be receiving the statuette of the beguiling hero of Miguel Cervantes' classic novel of the same name this week is still anybody's guess..
All will be revealed Wednesday when the Rotary Club of St. Thomas II delivers the statuette to the person they deem best reflects the club's values. Club president Fitzroy Rowe said, "We present this award to recognize good citizenship and strength of character in the recipient, and to encourage such traits in others."
Rotary members pride themselves on being able to keep the secret. They did such a good job of it a few years ago that they completely fooled 2002 recipient Eliot MacIver Davis, who had at that point chaired the club's award committee for 10 years.
Davis said Monday, "We select Don Quixote because he is renowned for honor and truth and, of course, for dreaming the impossible dream."
Deciding the honoree isn't easy. Horace Callwood, award committee member, said, "This year, as before, we've received and reviewed numerous nominations during our annual search."
The award will be presented at the 12 noon meeting at Marriott Frenchman's Reef.
The awardees represent a broad spectrum of the community. Persons of the Year have ranged from the worlds of medicine, media, academia, government, private industry and, of course, politics.
Past honorees are:
– 2004 Rodney Miller
– 2003 LaVerne Ragster
– 2002 Elliot "Mac" Davis
– 2001 Shaun A. Pennington
– 2000 John P. deJongh Jr.
– 1999 Randy Knight
– 1998 Nick Pourzal
– 1997 Lorraine Berry
– 1996 Vinni Mohanani
– 1995 Juel T.R. Molloy
– 1994 Edward E. Thomas Sr.
– 1993 Leona Bryant
– 1992 Verne A. Hodge
– 1991 Athniel "Addie" Ottley
– 1990 Dilsa Capdeville
– 1989 Ron de Lugo
– 1988 Irvin "Brownie" Brown
– 1987 Alexander A. Farrelly
– 1986 Dr. Alfred O. Heath – 1985 Calvin Wheatley
– 1984 Costas Coulianos
– 1983 Dr. Roy L. Schneider
– 1982 Albert A. Aubain
– 1981 – Wilbur "Bill" Lamotta

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.