74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, March 3, 2024


Oct. 7, 2003 – The Senate Finance Committee approved 13 farmers' leases and three federal grant applications on Tuesday.
Sen. Adlah "Foncie" Donastorg said some of the farmers had been "waiting for decades for their leases to be approved" and that he had made addressing the matter a priority upon taking over as Finance chair at the beginning of this year.
Tuesday marked the fourth lease hearing the committee has held this year. Donastorg said the lack of leases on government-owned agricultural land has inhibited farmers from making significant investments in their businesses and has left them ineligible for federal farm loan and grant programs.
The federal grant applications approved, all from the Planning and Natural Resources Department, are seeking $55,519 for an ambient air monitoring network, $25,955 for technical support related to the ambient air monitoring, and $288,530 for historic preservation.
Sen. Roosevelt David commended the farmers for their industriousness in providing produce as small business entrepreneurs.
Sen. Louis Hill, however, expressed concern about the economic viability to the government of leasing the land at the current rates. He told Agriculture Commissioner Lawrence Lewis that while he supports farmers leasing government land at minimal cost, he thinks the Agriculture Department should consider increasing the fees, which have not changed in 20 years.
Donastorg disagreed, insisting that local governments should follow the lead of regional governments by encouraging more farming and providing more incentives.
The leases, all for St. Thomas, were approved for Mary Alexander (two); Omar Ledee; Hector and Margarita Quetel; Cyril LaPlace; Washington Gumbs; Pierre, John and Carl LaPlace; Maanazo Lamakalo; Alphonso Fahie; Ecedro Rabsatt; Robelto Harrigan; Ronnie Hunt; and Bethany Bradford.
The committee deferred action on one other lease matter before it, an amendment to a commercial lease to Felix Santana d/b/a Subbase Wreck Shop. The senators voted to hold the lease in committee for 30 days because of legal insufficiencies pointed out by the Legislature's legal counsel.
Committee members attending the meeting were Sens. David, Donastorg, Hill, Shawn-Michael Malone and Ronald Russell. Sens. Norman Jn Baptiste and Luther Renee were not present.

Back Talk

Share your reaction to this news with other Source readers. Please include headline, your name, and the city and state/country or island where you reside.

Publisher's note : Like the St. Croix Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.