82.1 F
Charlotte Amalie
Sunday, June 16, 2024


June 6, 2003 – Delegate Donna M. Christensen was one of three members of Congress honored by the National Mental Health Association on Thursday as Legislators of the Year.
Christensen, a physician, was recognized for her leadership as chair of the Congressional Black Caucus Health Braintrust and for her advocacy on behalf of individuals with, or at risk of, mental illness.
The association applauded her support of mental health parity legislation and her advocacy for prevention and early intervention services for children with disabilities.
In accepting the award, a release from Christensen's office said, she asked for the NMHA's assistance "in addressing the poor state of mental health, including substance abuse services in the Virgin Islands."
The other members of Congress receiving the award were Rep. Mark Foley (R., Fla.) and Rep. Ciro Rodriguez (D., Texas).

Publisher's note : Like the St. John Source now? Find out how you can love us twice as much — and show your support for the islands' free and independent news voice … click here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.