74.9 F
Charlotte Amalie
Thursday, December 7, 2023


The 15 members of the 23rd Legislature — 10 incumbents and five newcomers — will be sworn in Monday morning as mandated by V.I. law.
The Revised Organic Act requires the Legislature to convene on the second Monday in January.
The swearing-in ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. at Emancipation Garden. Afterwards the 15 senators will walk to
the Legislature building a block away where they will officially organize, elect officers, make committee assignments and adopt new rules.
With an 11-member majority this term, the process of electing officers may be less antagonistic than it has been in the past.
Vargrave Richards of St. Croix has been unofficially designated president of the new Legislature, taking over from Lorraine L. Berry of St. Thomas. Richards has already said he will not tolerate disruptions.
Following the formal session, the senators will host a lunch at Frenchman's Reef.
Gov. Charles W. Turnbull will give his State of the Territory address at 7:30 that night at the Legislature.
Members of the majority bloc include seven Democrats, two Republicans and two independents. They are:
— Richards, Democrat, St. Croix.
— Berry, Democrat, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Adlah "Foncie" Donastorg, independent, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Judy M. Gomez, Democrat, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Allie-Allison Petrus, independent, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Roosevelt David, Democrat, St. Thomas-St. John.
— George Goodwin, Democrat, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Anne Golden, Republican, St. Croix.
— Norman Jn Baptiste, Democrat, St. Croix.
— Gregory Bennerson, Republican, St. Croix.
— David Jones, Democrat, St. Croix.
The four non-majority bloc senators are:
–Newcomer Donald "Ducks" Cole, independent, St. Thomas-St. John.
— Almando "Rocky" Liburd, ICM, at-large.
— Adelbert M. "Bert" Bryan, ICM, St. Croix.
— Alicia "Chucky" Hansen, independent, St. Croix.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Keeping our community informed is our top priority.
If you have a news tip to share, please call or text us at 340-228-8784.

Support local + independent journalism in the U.S. Virgin Islands

Unlike many news organizations, we haven't put up a paywall – we want to keep our journalism as accessible as we can. Our independent journalism costs time, money and hard work to keep you informed, but we do it because we believe that it matters. We know that informed communities are empowered ones. If you appreciate our reporting and want to help make our future more secure, please consider donating.